Did you know that those who are underage can face adult penalties for driving while intoxicated in Texas? It’s possible for a minor to face the same penalties that an adult would without any alteration to account for their age or alcohol education.
According to the Texas Department of Public Safety Driver License Division, s first offense for driving while intoxicated is a Class B misdemeanor and can have a fine as high as $2,000. It’s also possible for a minor to be jailed for up to 180 days but for no less than 72 hours.
On top of these penalties, they could have their license suspended for anywhere from 90 to 365 days.
What happens if this isn’t the first time you’ve offended?
If you’re under 21 and this isn’t the first time you’ve gotten accused of a DWI, you need to be cautious. The penalties are more significant, and you could face much greater penalties.
For example, a second offense comes with fines of up to $4,000, and a third or subsequent offense may cost you $10,000. Additionally, you could face a felony for a third offense and be imprisoned for between two and 10 years.
These charges aren’t considering a situation where someone has been hurt or killed. Under those circumstances, the penalties are enhanced.
The penalties for harming someone in a DWI crash
Intoxication assault is the name used when someone has been harmed as a result of drunk driving. This is a felony of the third degree and comes with up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
Do you know the penalties for killing someone in a DWI crash?
Intoxication manslaughter is classified as a felony of the second degree. This could come with fines of up to $10,000 and up to 20 years in prison.
If you’re a minor and are accused of a DWI, it’s important to take action and to protect yourself. A good defense may help you minimize the risk of a conviction or help reduce the charges that you face to limit the potential penalties.