An unfortunate fact of daily living is the prevalence of drunk driving arrests. There are many stories and examples of DWI arrests stemming from driving an automobile while drunk. Particularly on interstate highways, commercial drivers often make the news when drunk driving is suspected, particularly if a car crash occurs. Less frequent but equally deadly are drunk driving charges for operating a golf cart while drunk.
Texas Drunk Driving Laws
In Denton, Collins, and Dallas counties people can get arrested for operating a golf cart while drunk if their blood alcohol content (BAC) level is 0.08% or higher for adults over 21. People under 21 are subject to drunk driving charges while operating a golf cart if any traceable amount of alcohol is found in their bloodstream. Texas statutes also make it unlawful to operate the following while legally drunk:
The fines, punishment, and penalties associated with a drunk driving while operating a golf cart charge are the same as if driving an automobile. First-time offenders can expect a fine, jail time, loss of driving privileges for a year, and annual conditional license fees ranging from $1,000 to $2,000 for up to three years. They too have to attend classes and undergo alcohol counseling and treatment in order to resolve their DWI arrest. Subsequent arrests for DWI increase the fines, punishment, penalties, probation, and may require the installation of an ignition interlock device.
DWI and Vehicular Assault with a Golf Cart
Last month a woman in Illinois was charged with driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) and vehicular assault. Allegedly, the woman was driving a golf cart and another woman was in the passenger seat; the woman’s husband and another male were standing on the back of the golf cart while the woman drove. The woman’s husband fell off the golf cart and hit his head. He later died at the hospital. At the scene of the accident, the responding police officer saw three open beer cans in the golf cart and one on its roof. The police officer also states he smelled alcohol on the driver’s breath and her eyes were watery and bloodshot. The woman was charged with DUI at the scene of the accident. When her husband died, the charges were upgraded to include vehicular assault. DWI-related charges like vehicular assault are possible in any moving vehicle. Golf carts, ATVS, campers, motorcycles, boats, and airplanes can cause significant property damage and loss of life when operated by a drunk operator. The key to remember is the BAC level. If you are legally drunk in Texas and operate a vehicle drunk, you will be charged for DWI, DUI, and other DWI related charges.
How Can We Help?
If you are facing DWI or DUI criminal charges, consult an experienced DWI defense attorney. Kimberly Griffin Tucker and her team are ready to assist you resolve your drunk driving case. Helping clients in the Plano and Dallas area call (214) 445-6336 to schedule an immediate free consultation. Reach us 24 hours per day via phone or email. Our Plano, Texas office and help is only a phone call or email away.